Our crooked hearts REVIEW! #799

Name of the book- Our Crooked Hearts

Name of the author- Melissa Albert

“There’s magic born out of pure will, voiceless. No, not pure: will muddied and thickened with grief and terror, and love in all its forms.”

Ivy, 17, and her soon-to-be ex almost drive over a young woman who is standing in the middle of a tree-lined road while returning from a party. It’s only the beginning of a series of unsettling occurrences and gifts, including a dead rabbit in the driveway, a strange mixture her mother buried in the backyard, and a box of family heirlooms concealed in her parents’ closet safe. The most unnerving part is that the guy next door helps rusted memories of Ivy and her mysterious mother’s past to resurface. What if Ivy’s mother is more complex than first appears? And what if the paranormal entities she experimented with when she was a teenager ended up coming back to harm them both? If Ivy is to survive the darkness creeping in, she must wrestle with these issues and more. This captivating and fast-paced novel, which alternates between Ivy’s modern suburban community and her mother’s 1990s Chicago magic-soaked world, shoots towards a denouement sure to keep readers up all night.

This book features all of those fantastic elements, tales you can completely appreciate, including creepy, scary, interesting, thrilling, slow-burn mystery, excellently designed, complex character development, well-thrown surprises, loads of spells, gloom, and a devastating young love story. This novel has a gloomy, menacing atmosphere. Every chapter of the narrative was so captivating that I was unable to put it down. Billy was my favorite character. I adored his youthful upbeat embrace of Ivy’s magic and his later hope that was laced with regret. This is a tale of magic, treachery, and retribution, and I wish it hadn’t ended because I enjoyed it. The first few Ivy chapters were a touch sluggish, so I enjoyed the Ivy chapters more as the narrative picked up.

The writing, which is presented in three sections, is engaging and believable in the context of the current world. This is a beautiful read because of the atmosphere, suburban life, and human psyche of love and regrets. I had great expectations for this release, and I was not disappointed. The gothic backdrop and the gloomy overtones of the literary style fit together perfectly, in my opinion. This novel completely fits the bill for me because I appreciate books with family secrets. I believe this book’s conclusion will cause controversy when it is published, and with all that transpired, I’m not even sure how I feel about Ivy and Dana’s relationship. This is the finest option you could make if you enjoy witches, wonderful mysteries, horror meets thrillers, and excellent creative writing!

Rating of the book- 4.5⭐/5⭐

If you like the review, then buy the book from the link given below-

Finally, I would like to thank you Penguin India for collaborating with me and providing me the review copy in exchange for an honest review. I loved reading this book and I hope to collaborate again!

If you like my review, please like the post, follow my blog, and comment down below on what you think about the book. You can also follow me on Instagram at https://www.instagram.com/book_withquotes/ to get my reading updates and mini-review.

For review collaborations, mail me at trishitadas07@gmail.com or dm me on Instagram.

Thank you!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started