Looking for alaska REVIEW! #631

Name of the book- Looking for Alaska

Name of the author- John Green 

“The only way out of the labyrinth of suffering is to forgive.”

Miles “Pudge” Halter has had enough of living safely at home. His entire existence has been one huge non-event, and his fascination with renowned final words has only increased his desire for “the Great Perhaps” (Francois Rabelais, poet). His life changes dramatically as he enrolls in the occasionally chaotic and anything-from-dull Culver Creek Boarding School. Alaska Young is down the hall, after all. Alaska Young is stunning, astute, hilarious, seductive, twisted up, and immensely interesting. She is a singular occurrence. Pudge is drawn into her world, thrust into the Great Perhaps, and has his heart stolen. Nothing returns to normal after that.

This book was neither over the top, realistic, nor unrepresentative of what individuals go through daily. And I couldn’t help but be impressed by the characters’ characteristics, which make them all the more lovely when combined. Fun, chaotic, and some fantastic pranks abound throughout the first half. The entire countdown procedure was interesting and created a lot of tension. A significant turning point in Pudge’s life occurs after the fun. Heartbreak, loss, and sadness are common. The song “Looking for Alaska” emphasizes friendship above anything else. I adore how everyone supports one another through trying times. Whether it’s Alaska’s attention to little things, Pudge’s naivety, Takumi’s comedy, or the Colonel’s commitment to always stand by his comrades, the characters are well-crafted.

The plot of this was divided into two sections: “before,” in which Miles started at his boarding school, and “after,” which was a little spookier. The intriguing novel Looking for Alaska explores the influence one person can have on your life and the benefits of being ready to venture outside of your comfort zone. Like in many other John Green works, the characters are considerably more snarky and sophisticated than the typical teen, but I never really find that to be a problem. Overall, it was a passable read with inconsistent pacing and an interesting plot. It centers on damaged and lost youths who are searching for purpose in life while battling their inner demons and navigating friendships and sorrow.

Smoking, drinking, death, suicide reference, and sexual content are triggers.

Favorite lines from the book-

“Thomas Edison’s last words were “It’s very beautiful over there“. I don’t know where there is, but I believe it’s somewhere, and I hope it’s beautiful.”

“So I walked back to my room and collapsed on the bottom bunk, thinking that if people were rain, I was drizzle and she was a hurricane.”

“When I look at my room, I see a girl who loves books.”

“You don’t get to choose if you get hurt in this world…but you do have some say in who hurts you. I like my choices.”

“I may die young, but at least I’ll die smart.”

Rating of the book- 3⭐/5⭐

If you like the review, then buy the book from the link given below-

If you like my review, please like the post, follow my blog, and comment down below on what you think about the book. You can also follow me on Instagram at  https://www.instagram.com/book_withquotes/  to get my reading updates and mini-review.

For review collaborations, mail me at trishitadas07@gmail.com or dm me on Instagram.

Thank you!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started