The Silence Factory REVIEW! #1641

Name of the book – The Silence Factory

Name of the author –   Bridget Collins 

This is a gothic suspense about a powerful family, the magical and dangerous silk their fortune is built on, and the exploitative history they are desperately trying to hide. The main plot unfolds across two timelines: the first perspective is presented through the diary of Sophia Ashmore Percy in 1820. The Silence Factory warns against the theft of what constitutes a natural and sacred element and the use of it for materialistic enrichment. The book has two timelines: Sophia’s POV, as she travels to Greece with her controlling husband, in search of a rumored spider breed with magical qualities. The other POV is Henry, who is coincidentally thrust into the world of Sophia’s great-nephew, the owner of a spider-silk factory.

I tried to savour this book but it was just too good and I rushed through it. The writing in large parts is absolutely beautiful. More impressive still, she manages to capture that Victorian gothic atmosphere so well, without losing the accessibility and faster pace of modern storytelling. I love how she brings this era to life, highlighting the corruption and greed that drove so many on their quest for wealth and status. This novel interrogates voice and agency viewing the restrictions placed on subsets of people based on their gender, sexuality, class, and disability.

Though there is plenty of mayhem and on the edge of your seat hold your breath drama before that point! My heart ached constantly for the treatment of the women and children in this book. The ending for me was worth it to see it all come together, and I appreciated the descriptive writing, emotion, and mood of the book.

Rating of the book – 4.5⭐/5⭐

If you like the review, then buy the books from the link given below-

Finally, I would like to thank you HarperCollins India for collaborating with me and providing me the review copy in exchange for an honest review. I loved reading this book and I hope to collaborate again!

If you like my review, please like the post, follow my blog, and comment down below on what you think about the book. You can also follow me on Instagram at https://www.instagram.com/book_withquotes/  to get my reading updates and mini-review.

For review collaborations, mail me at trishitadas07@gmail.com or dm me on Instagram.

Thank you!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started